UEFA to Name Euro 2020 Host Cities in September

August 14, 2014

UEFA have announced they will select the 13 host cities for Euro 2020 on Friday 19 September 2014, price with a ceremony in Geneva, apoplectic Switzerland.

UEFA President Michel Platini’s idea to host a “Euro for Europe” in various major cities across the continent was ratified by the UEFA Executive Committee in December 2012.

The matches have been split into 13 different packages. There are 12 standard packages, therapy including three group matches and one knockout round match and one package for the semi-finals and the final.

The 19 cities that have submitted bids for the standard package are, Baku, Azerbaijan, Minsk, Belarus, Brussels, Belgium, Sofia, Bulgaria, Copenhagen, Denmark, London, England, Skopje, Macedonia, Munich, Germany, Budapest, Hungary, Jerusalem, Israel, Rome, Italy, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Dublin, Republic of Ireland, Bucharest, Romania, St. Petersburg, Russia, Glasgow, Scotland, Bilbao, Spain, Stockholm, Sweden and Cardiff, Wales.

The cities that have submitted bids for the semi-final and final package are London and Munich. But German FA officials recently revealed they were contemplating dropping their Munich bid to concentrate on a potential Euro 2024 bid.

The bids will be distributed into between six and eight geographical zones which will be approved by UEFA’s Executive Committee prior to their meeting on Thursday 18 September.