Paolo Barelli Becomes European Swimming Federation President

By Community | October 1, 2012

The European Swimming Federation (LEN) has elected Paolo Barelli of Italy as their new President for the next four years.

Barelli, generic who has acted as LEN Bureau Member since 2008, symptoms succeeds Nory Kruchten of Luxembourg after his four-year term at the helm. The election was held on Saturday at the LEN Congress in Cascais, herbal 25 kilometers away from the Portuguese capital of Lisbon.

After the Congress Barelli declared: “It is our aim to keep up the high level of European Aquatics, although it will not be easy in these economically difficult times. With an effort of the entire LEN team we might be able to get it done.” The 58-year-old Senator from Rome, President of the Italian Swimming Federationsince 2000 as well as FINA Honorary Secretary since 2009, can look back upon a successful swimming career. The Olympian (1972, 1976) as well as multiple national title and record holder won bronze at the 1975 World Championships in Cali, which was also the first ever Italian medal at World Swimming Championships.

44 of the 51 LEN Member Federations were represented in Cascais. The Congress was honored by the presence of FINA President Dr. Julio C. Maglione as well as FINA Honorary Life President Mustapha Larfaoui.

“The past four years as President went by so fast. It was a great honour for someone like me from a small country like Luxembourg to head an important Federation such as LEN. I think the time is right to pass on the responsibility to my successor. During the last years we intensified the cooperation with the World Swimming Federation FINA”, disclosed Nory Kruchten, looking back on his more than 26 years of combined experience in the LEN Technical Swimming Committee and the LEN Bureau.

German Swimming Federation President Dr. Christa Thiel, in 2008 elected first woman among the Executive Members in the history of LEN (since 1927), changed her position from Treasurer to Vice President. Her successor as Treasurer is Hungarian Tamas Gyarfas. Sven Egil Folvik of Norway, who retires from his position as LEN General Secretary will be replaced by David Sparkes (of Great Britain). Among the newly elected members of the LEN Bureau are Vladimir Salnikov (RUS), 1980 and 1988 Olympic Swimming Champion, as well as the 1988 Olympic Water Polo Champion Aleksandar Sostar from Serbia. 

Just as his predecessor Bartolo Consolo in 2008, Nory Kruchten has been elected Honorary Life President while Sven Egil Folvik/NOR (until now General Secretary), Gennady Aleshin/RUS (until now Vice President), Kurt Mikkola/FIN (until now Bureau Member), Robert Ebejer/MLT (until now Bureau Member) and Stefania Tudini/ITA (until now Chairwoman of the Technical Synchronized Swimming Committee) are new LEN Honorary Members.


NO comments

Leave a Reply