IPL Season Schedule Announced, Kochi Unveil New Identity

February 17, 2011

The Board of Control for Cricket in India Wednesday released the schedule for IPL Season 4, which will see last year’s winner Chennai Super Kings taking on Kolkata Knight Riders in the first match at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai on 8 April.

IPL season 4 will have ten teams playing a total of 74 matches at 13 venues over 51 days, which will run till 22 May, when the grand finale will be held.

As reigning champions, Chennai Super Kings have the right to host the Opening match of the season, and to provide the venue for the Final.

In other news, the newly-formed IPL franchise known as Team Kochi have unveiled their new identity as the Indi Commandos, revealing their new team logo in the process.

That was the title the franchise first uploaded on its official Facebook page. The name the franchise had initially posted had neither state nor city moorings.

A second posting was the released which read: “The full name of the Kochi IPL page is “INDI COMMANDOS KERALA!” The earlier mentioned name was just for your immediate information! “

The franchise explained the thought behind the naming, stating: “‘INDI’ stands for an independent Indian cricket team that will go ahead to win a billion hearts. ‘COMMANDOS’ stands for an elite fighting squad, renown for attacking with speed, stealth and deadly power.”