International Triathlon Union Renews Deal with International Powerman Association

February 13, 2012

The International Triathlon Union (ITU) has announced it has extended its partnership with the International Powerman Association (IPA) to stage the 2012 and 2013 ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championships. 

The event will be part of the Powerman Series and will remain in Zofingen, Switzerland, located approximately 60km west of Zurich.

“With this continued partnership with Powerman, a stronger, brighter future is in store for international duathlon,” said Marisol Casado, ITU President and IOC Member. “Zofingen offers a beautiful and challenging backdrop for the grueling test of long distance duathlon.”

The event will be held on 1-2 September 2012 with the elite duathletes fighting it out for gold over a 10km run followed by a 150km bike then a 30km run.  A total prize purse of $50,000 USD will be on offer, equal for men and women.

“In 2011 we established an ITU-Powerman working committee with the mission to boost duathlon and create more awareness for the sport,” said John Raadschelders, President of the International Powerman Association.  “Faith in each other is fundamental to this continued partnership for 2012 and 2013.”

This year will mark the 24th edition of Powerman Zofingen and the fifth time it will serve as the ITU Duathlon Long Distance World Championship.

“The extension of the co-operation between ITU and Powerman over two years is an important message for the sport of duathlon and opens to athletes and federations new perspectives,” said Stefan Ruf, President of Powerman Zofingen.  “The possibility to win the ITU World Championship title at the epic Powerman Zofingen event makes this race unique for the elite and age-group athletes.”

At last year’s ITU Powerman Long Distance Duathlon World Championships in Zofingen, New Zealand’s Melanie Burke won her first world championship while Belgium’s Joerie Vansteelant cemented his position as the king of long distance duathlon by breaking the course record in the men’s race.

by Ismail Uddin