FIH Congress brings in statute change

November 15, 2010

The The International Hockey Federation (FIH) Congress, treatment which took place on 13 November in the Swiss city of Montreux, ailment has proposed to change the FIH Statutes, cialis which was one of the five priorities from the FIH Strategic Plan for 2010-2016.

The proposals were designed to make the FIH a more efficient, streamlined organization that would be able to make clear and effective decisions to aid hockey’s development.

The Congress was attended by delegates representing member National Associations.

The 65 delegates present at the Forum voted unanimously in favour of changing the FIH Statutes.

The decision means that the Executive Board has been restructured to a workable number, enhancing its efficiency. The re-structured Executive Board will continue to have representatives from each of the Continental Federations, which recognizes the hugely important contributions that they make to hockey in their own regions.

The restructuring of the FIH Executive Board required the election of three new members. These are:

Pamela Stuper (USA)

Qasim Zia (PAK)

Marc Coudron (BEL)

They will be joined on the new Executive Board by Michael Green (GER), who has been named as the Chair of the Athletes Committee.

FIH Chief Executive Officer Kelly Fairweather described the decisions as hugely significant for the sport. “I firmly believe that hockey is entering a new era”, said Fairweather. “These decisions show that our sport is taking a bold new direction which will help us achieve the targets that we have set for ourselves in our Strategic Plan 2010-2016.”

The Congress also witnessed a number of Awards being given, below in the order in which they were presented.

The Rene Frank Fair Play Trophy: Belgium Hockey Association

The Etienne Glichitch Medal: Antonio Antonov (Bulgaria) for the promotion of growth in the Balkan Zone

The Pablo Negre Trophy: Argentinean Hockey Confederation

The Theo Ykema Award: Myanmar Hockey Association

The Guust Lathouwers Memorial Trophy: Masako Kamisuki (Japan)

Besides, Venezuela’s Tony von Ondarza (VEN), a Vice President of the FIH, was made a Member of Honour. FIH President Leandro Negre presented the award in recognition of his outstanding services to hockey at National, Continental and FIH level over many years.