Credit Suisse CEO Among 10 New IOC Members

June 27, 2019

Ten new members have been elected to the International Olympic Committee, which now totals 105 people.

Greece regained IOC representation after four years with the election of Spyros Capralos as one of the new members to the global organisation.

Another new member is banker Tidjane Thiam, CEO of Credit Suisse, a French and Ivorian citizen (photo below).

Reuters reports:

Two of the biggest international federations were again left out in the cold. Neither FIFA President Gianni Infantino nor IAAF President Sebastian Coe was on the list for a fourth straight year.

The IOC also elected HRH Prince Feisal (Jordan) and Nawal Al Moutawakel (Morocco) to the IOC Executive Board.

Capralos had been reprimanded back in 2012 as head of his country’s Olympic Committee after his involvement in a London 2012 Games ticket resale scandal that also included several other national Olympic Committees.

Greece will host the 2021 IOC session in Athens that will also decide on the re-election of IOC President Thomas Bach.

Other new members are:

  • Former Costa Rica president Laura Chinchill
  • Cameroon sports administrator Odette Assembe Engoulou
  • Matlohang Moiloa-Ramoqopo who heads the Lesotho National Olympic Committee
  • Indonesian businessman Erick Thohir
  • President of the Cape Verde Olympic Committee Filomena Fortes
  • Narinder Dhruv Batra, President of the Indian Olympic Association
  • Mustapha Berraf who heads the African Olympic Committees Association
  • Lee Kee-heung Lee, South Korean Olympic Committee chief