USA Sevens Secure a Host of Broadcast Sponsors for Event

February 9, 2012

USA Sevens LLC have announced the addition of national broadcast sponsors Subway, Caesars Entertainment, 5-hour ENERGY, and DHL for the upcoming USA Sevens International Rugby Championship, round 5 of the HSBC Sevens World Series at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas on February 10 – 12.

In-stadium benefits of the sponsorship for each partner consist of signage that includes permanent logos on and surrounding the field, jumbotron messaging and virtual in-broadcast signage. With live coverage throughout the weekend from NBC, NBC Sports Network and Universal Sports, each sponsor will also retain rights during broadcasts including tagged tune-in promotion on NBC and commercial inventory.

“The premier group of world-class brands who have partnered with us for the 2012 USA Sevens accentuates rugby’s rapid growth in the U.S.,” said Jonathan First, president USA Sevens Rugby. “Each of these organizations has a unique opportunity to showcase their brands to fans of the fastest growing sport in America. And with a worldwide broadcast reach of 333 million homes, the tournament is an ideal platform for brands looking to reach a global audience.”

Additional sponsors include GUINNESS, Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, Station Casinos, Qantas, adidas, Pepsi, Callidus Cloud and Digital Simulation.

“Last year we were pleased to offer U.S. viewers their first chance to see live action of the HSBC Sevens World Series, and the response was overwhelmingly positive,” said Jon Miller, president of programming for NBC Sports. “As the popularity of rugby continues on its rocket-like trajectory, we expect increased viewership to return to NBC Sports for the 2012 USA Sevens tournament, and we know this year’s event will provide another spectacular viewing experience.”

USA Sevens fans can view live coverage of the event on NBC, NBC Sports Network and Universal Sports Network during the following times:

Saturday, Feb. 11: 3:30 – 6 p.m. EST on NBC; 7 – 9 p.m. EST on NBC Sports Network

Sunday, Feb. 12: 12:30 – 2 p.m. EST on Universal Sports Network; 2:30 – 4:30 p.m. EST on NBC Sports Network; 4:30 – 6 p.m. EST on NBC

National teams from Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, United States, Uruguay and Wales will all compete in the USA Sevens tournament.

by Ismail Uddin