Three Candidates in Shortlist for Badminton World Federation Presidency

By Community | February 25, 2013

Badminton World Federation (BWF) have announced three candidates are vying to become the next President while two people are standing for the post of Deputy President.

When nominations closed last Friday, story Dato Sri Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh (Malaysia), Dr. Justian Suhandinata (Indonesia) and Poul-Erik Hoyer (Denmark) were the nominees (listed in order of nomination dates) for the world-governing organisation’s top post for the next four years.

Nadzmi, who heads the Badminton Association of Malaysia, was put forward by his national organisation. Suhandinata, a BWF Council member, was nominated by the All Indonesia Badminton Association. Hoyer – the President of Badminton Europe – has been nominated by Badminton Denmark.

Meanwhile, current BWF Deputy President, Paisan Rangsikitpho of the USA, is seeking re-election to that post. He will be opposed by Gustavo Salazar Delgado of Peru who is a BWF Council member and the President of Badminton Pan Am.

Last November, outgoing BWF President Dr. Kang Young Joong of South Korea announced his decision not to seek a third term in office, saying “the time is right for transition now that BWF is in a stable position and on a positive path with good long-term strategies in place”.

BWF Council elections will be held at the annual general meeting on Saturday 18 May in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. In total, 20 of 26 Council positions will be selected, with the Chair of the BWF Athletes’ Commission and the five continental confederations’ Vice-Presidents having previously been chosen. Additionally, Paul Kurzo has been nominated unopposed as Vice President – Para-Badminton; a post which he currently holds.

Apart from Kurzo and the nominees for President and Deputy President, 30 other persons are running for 17 places as BWF Council members.