Ten Sports to Broadcast WTA Events in Asia

By Community | January 2, 2013

Taj Television-owned Ten Sports has secured the broadcast rights to televise WTA Premier tournaments for India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka from 2013 to 2016.

In addition to the television rights, Ten Sports has also acquired the rights to distribute the matches on mobile and internet technology.

As part of the deal Ten Sports will be telecasting 110 matches every year including Semi Final and Final from each of the WTA’s 22 Premier tournaments, including the year-end WTA Championships.

Ten Sports CEO Atul Pande said, “As we continue to expand our content for viewers in South Asia, we’re delighted to add outstanding WTA women’s tennis tournaments from around the world.” Women’s tennis is one of the fastest growing sports in India and we are privileged to be a part of its success.

The WTA acquisition add to the existing strong line-up of tennis programming on TEN Sports , which includes US Open, Aircel Chennai Open, ATP 1000 and 500 Tournaments.

The 2013 WTA competitive season starts with the Brisbane International from 3-6 January and concludes with the TEB BNP Paribas WTA Championships in Istanbul, Turkey, 22-27 October, and the Tournament of Champions in Sofia, Bulgaria, 29 October – 3 November.