Suspended Horace Burrell Named On Caribbean Football Union Normalisation Committee

December 23, 2011

cough helvetica,sans-serif;”>Captain Horace Burrell, President of the Jamaica Football Federation, has been named on a Normalisation Committee charged with temporally directing affairs of the damaged Caribbean Football Union until a new executive is elected.

FIFA handed Burrell a six-month suspension for unspecified ethics violations as a consequence of the cash-for-vote scandal that shrouded the region in controversy and that has left it severely bruised. He will return back to his normal duties on 16 January, only serving half the time of his sentence.

Top elected official Lisle Austin was banned, while Trinidad and Tobago executive Jack Warner resigned whilst under investigation. A further eleven Caribbean officials were handed bans for up to 26months.

The appointment of the nine-man committee was agreed upon following a couple of days of meetings at FIFA’s headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland. 30 Presidents united to discuss and formulate a strategy to rebuild the CFU.

Yves Jean Bart, the acting CFU head who chaired the meetings in Zurich, stated that he was “proud to have been part of such a historical achievement and expects that the decisions taken at the Zurich meetings will result in a brighter and better CFU”.

FIFA president Blatter added: “I am very pleased that the representatives of the CFU have reached an agreement in order to move forward and to look into the future, for the good of the game in the region.”

The Normalisation Committee consists of Captain Horace Burrell (Jamaica), Yves Jean-Bart (Haiti), Luis Hernandez (Cuba), Victor Daniel (Grenada), Jeffrey Webb (Cayman Islands), Larry Mussenden (Bermuda), Ronald Jones (Barbados), Everton Gonsalves (Antigua and Barbuda) and Rignaal Francisca (Curacao).