SPAR Continue Partnership of European Athletics

August 17, 2011

SPAR International has announced it has extended its partnership with European Athletics until 2015.

SPAR has been the title sponsor of European Athletics since 1996.

The deal is scheduled to begin in January 2012 and will incorporate the European Athletics Championships, ed the European Athletics Indoor Championships, patient the SPAR European Cross Country Championships and the European Team Championships until 2015.

“We are delighted that SPAR will continue as our main partner. We have had a fantastic relationship with SPAR over the past 15 years and we value the company’s continued support as we continue to address our ambitious plans for athletics in Europe, order ” said Hansjörg Wirz, President of European Athletics.

Dr. Gordon Campbell, SPAR International managing director, explained: ‘European Athletics’ championship events provide SPAR with a cost effective, good level of brand exposure’. 

“Through our partnership with European Athletics, the SPAR brand is closely aligned with energetic and healthy people competing at the pinnacle of sport on the continent, and this combined with our support of national and local athletics events is the right synergy for us.”

The European Championships have been gaining more and more in popularity with a television audience of 368 million during live broadcasts of 2010 Barcelona European Championships.

Dr. Campbell added: “European Athletics events are a great platform for building the SPAR brand worldwide. We are very much looking forward to the next championships in Helsinki in 2012 and then Zürich in 2014 as European Athletics switches to a two-year cycle for its main championships.”

The sponsorship renewal means SPAR will be principal international partner for the Göteborg 2013 European Athletics Indoor Championships and the to-be-awarded 2015 European event as well as the 2013, 2014 and 2015 European Team Championships. 

SPAR also will be the title sponsor of the annual SPAR European Cross Country Championships through 2012 to 2015.