Relevent Sports Agree TLA Deal to Bring International Champions Cup to Asia Pacific in 2015

By Community | June 19, 2014

Relevent Sports, a division of RSE Ventures Inc., has signed an agreement with TLA Worldwide plc, a leading athlete representation and sports marketing group, to bring the elite International Champions Cup (ICC) to Asia Pacific from 2015-2018.

The expansion of the ICC for 2015 comes with the ICC Finals to take place this summer at Sun Life Stadium on Aug. 4.

TLA has partnered with Nine Live, wholly owned by Nine Entertainment Co, a leading Australian media and entertainment company, to organize, promote and deliver the ICC to the region from 2015-2018. Participating teams and the host country for the tournament will be announced in due course.

TLA Worldwide Chair Bart Campbell commented: “With this agreement TLA has made a significant move to diversify its activities into the world’s most popular sport. TLA will play a central role in bringing some of the world’s most widely followed clubs and iconic brands to one of the most dynamic regions of Asia. We are delighted to team up with Nine Live who have market leading regional expertise.”

The Asia Pacific ICC tournament will be the first example of TLA’s collaboration with Nine Live to bring world-class sports events to the region and more opportunities are already being developed jointly for the future.

Geoff Jones, Managing Director at Nine Live, said: “TLA’s international relationships within the sports market make them the ideal partner for bringing this exciting tournament to the region. We look forward to working with them to make this event a major fixture in the region’s sporting calendar and are very confident it will be a huge success, as it is in the U.S.”

The ICC transforms the traditional European club pre-season tour into an annual competitive global tournament, which is currently hosted only in the U.S.

The first ICC was held in 2013 and broadcast in 150 countries, featuring eight top clubs from across the world, including A.C. Milan, Chelsea, Everton, Juventus and Real Madrid. This year’s edition features Real Madrid, Manchester United, Liverpool, Manchester City, A.C. Milan, AS Roma, Inter Milan and Olympiacos in matches across 12 North American cities.

This year’s tournament final will be held on August 4 in Miami at Sun Life Stadium.