PGA Appoints Three New Members to Board of Directors

January 25, 2012

Three new members of The PGA of America’s Board of Directors have been appointed at the Association’s 95th Annual Meeting at the Hilton Orlando in Orlando, Fla.

The new PGA District Directors are Jim Antkiewicz of Aliquippa, Pa.; Scott Brandt of St. George, Utah.; and Chris Thomson of Lincoln, Neb., who each will serve three-year terms.

The PGA Board of Directors is composed of the Association’s President, Vice President, Secretary, Honorary President and 17 Directors. The Directors include representatives from each of The PGA’s 14 Districts, two Independent Directors and a member of the PGA Tour. New District Directors are elected by their local PGA Sections.

Jim Antkiewicz succeeds Michael Doctor of Camillus, N.Y., and returns for a second term as District 4 Director, serving the Central New York, Tri-State and Western New York Sections. Antkiewicz, 54, previously served on the PGA Board from 2002 through 2005. Antkiewicz is the PGA director of golf at the Club at Nevillewood in Presto, Pa., where he has served since 1995. He was the 2008 PGA Golf Professional of the Year and in 2011, inducted into the PGA Golf Professional Hall of Fame.

Scott Brandt replaces Ron Dunham of Jackson, Wyo., and Port St. Lucie, Fla., as District 9 Director for the Colorado, Rocky Mountain, and Utah PGA Sections. Elected to membership in 1985, Brandt, 52, is the PGA head professional at Bloomington Country Club in St. George, Utah, where he has served since 1992. He is a past president (2001-02) of the Utah PGA Section and was the 2003 Utah PGA Golf Professional of the Year; the 2011 Section Horton Smith Award recipient; the 1999 Section Bill Strausbaugh Award recipient and the 1995 Section Private Facilities Merchandiser of the Year.

Chris Thomson succeeds Jeff Smith of Oskaloosa, Iowa, as District 8 Director for the Iowa, Minnesota and Nebraska Sections, and was elected to membership in 1991. Thompson, 46, is the PGA head professional at Wilderness Ridge Golf Club in Lincoln, Neb., and served from 2007 to 2009 as president of the Nebraska PGA Section. He is a member of the PGA National Publicity Committee, executive sponsor for the Golf 2.0 Committee; and a member of the President’s Council for growing the game. One of the most decorated members of the Nebraska PGA Section.