Pawar becomes ICC President

July 1, 2010

Sharad Pawar has become President of the International Cricket Council (ICC), taking over from England’s David Morgan following the body’s annual conference in Singapore.

Pawar, who is a former chief of the Board of Control For Cricket in India (BCCI), will lead the ICC for two years after having served as Morgan’s deputy for the same amount of time.

Pawar is the second Indian to hold the top post in world cricket after Jagmohan Dalmiya’s stint in the late Nineties.

He praised the outgoing Morgan, saying: “David Morgan has set the principles by which the ICC operates and now it is our responsibility to build on his legacy.”

Morgan was grateful for having held the position, adding: “In the past few days many people have thanked me for my contribution to cricket. All I would say is that cricket has been kind to me it has given me much more than I have given back.”

Pawar becomes the seventh ICC President just as the sub-continent prepares to hold the World Cup next year.