Nominees Announced for Inaugural TV Sports Awards

September 8, 2015

The nominees for the first ever TV Sports Awards, medicine which have been launched to recognise excellence in the sports media industry, have been announced today.

The new ceremony, which was unveiled last month, is set to honour some of the biggest brands and most influential figures in the global sports media industry.

The event coincides with the annual SPORTELMonaco convention and will feature an array of sporting legends and high-profile guests from the world of sport, entertainment and media.

Co-organised by SPORTEL and Play for Change, in collaboration with Eurosport and Infront, the inaugural ceremony will be held at the Yacht Club de Monaco on Monday, 12th October 2015, in support of Play for Change, a global sports charity dedicated to the provision of life changing opportunities for children and young people from disadvantaged backgrounds.

Awards will be presented across five categories, including; Best Sports Broadcaster, Best Live Event Coverage, Best Digital Media Project, Best TV Rights Deal and Media Executive of the Year and will be voted for by SPORTEL attendees who are able to cast their votes online at Voting is open from today (Tuesday, 8th September) and will close on Friday, 2nd October.

Three nominees have been shortlisted in each category by an independent committee formed of representatives from influential and well-respected sports media partners, including; Sportcal, SportsPro, iSportconnect, TV Sports Markets and SportBusiness International.

The full list of nominees for the inaugural awards is as follows:

Nominees for Best Sports Broadcaster

– Eurosport (Discovery)

– BT Sport

– LeTV Sports

Nominees for Best Live Event Coverage

– Amaury Sport Organisation for the Tour de France

– FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015

– ISB’s Baku 2015 Live Coverage

Nominees for Best Digital Media Project

– Omnigon Rugby World Cup App

– Adidas ‘All in or Nothing’ Advertising Campaign

– The Madden GIFERATOR created by EA Sports

Nominees for Best TV Rights Deal

– Discovery and Eurosport agreement for European rights of the Olympic Games

– WTA agreement with Perform for global media rights

– The Bundesliga’s betting rights deal with Sportsman Media Group

Nominees for Media Executive of the Year

– Peter Hutton, CEO, Eurosport

– Joerg Daubitzer, Managing Director, DFL Sports Enterprises

– Javier Tebas, President, La Liga

A special ‘Play for Change’ award will also be presented on the night to recognise a top-class athlete who is responsible for extraordinary social responsibility work through supporting, funding and advocating worthy campaigns, initiatives and projects for vulnerable children through sports.

Marie Le Page, Director for Play for Change, said: “The shortlists for the inaugural TV Sports Awards include some of the most influential executives, broadcasters, networks, international sports federations, distributors and right owners in the industry.”

“We look forward to hosting some of the most important stakeholders in the sport and media industry at the ceremony, which will help raise funds for Play for Change to develop and grow our global programmes that help transform the lives of young vulnerable children through sports and education.”

Tables for the TV Sports Awards 2015 are available to reserve via the official website, please visit for more information.