Manchester to Host 2018 Lacrosse Men’s World Championships

July 29, 2013

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) has announced the Men’s World Championships will return to Manchester, England for 2018.

The games, which were held in Manchester in 2010 and will be played in Denver in 2014, will use the same facilities as in 2010 at the University of Manchester. England was previously named the host nation for the 2017 Women’s World Cup.

The 2010 games saw Team USA defeat Canada, 12-10, for the gold medal. That game was played in front of nearly 5,000 fans.

“The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is proud to announce that the English Lacrosse Association has been awarded the hosting rights for the 2018 FIL World Lacrosse Championship. We are extremely confident that English Lacrosse, having successfully hosted the 2010 Championship, will again run an event that FIL and the International lacrosse community will be proud of,” FIL president Stan Cockerton said in a news release.

Cockerton said there were multiple bids for the games but did not disclose which countries were in the running. England has resources to accommodate up to 48 countries — 29 participated in 2010 — and is “more than willing to be inclusive with our growth.”

“We are absolutely delighted that with the decision of the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) to give England Lacrosse hosting rights for the 2018 Men’s Field World Championship and the opportunity to serve the international community.  We hosted the 2010 Championship and will be using the same facilities at the Armitage Centre and accommodation at Manchester University which is within walking distance of fields where the games will be played,” David Marsden, co-president of England Lacrosse, said in a news release. “Following on from the success of the 2010 Championship we are certain that this will give a fantastic boost not only to English Lacrosse but more importantly to the international game.”

The games have been held every four years since 1974, with USA winning all but two gold medals. Canada won gold in 1978 and 2006. England has hosted the games three times (’78, ’94, 2010)