Jose Amaury Russo Elected President of Inas

May 3, 2013

Inas, the International Federation for sport for athletes with an intellectual disability within the Paralympic Movement, have announced Brazil’s Jose Amaury Russo has been elected their new President replacing Dr Bob Price OBE.

He becomes Inas’ first President to be elected from outside of Europe in its 26 year history and will lead the organisation as it builds towards the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. 

Russo, 59, was declared the winner in a close election contest with UK nominee Dr Geoff Smedley. He has more than 30 years experience in disability sport, including holding positions with the Brazilian Paralympic Committee and ABDEM (the Brazilian member organisation of Inas) and is a Director of ‘Piquesporte’ – a health and fitness facility in Sao Paolo. 

As the results were announced he led a number of emotional tributes to former President Dr Bob Price OBE, who steps down after six years at the organisation’s helm. 

“You have led Inas through some difficult times and achieved so much. I will work hard to build on that success and behalf of all Inas athletes, I wish you well in your retirement,” said Russo. 

Further tributes were paid to Bengt Lindstedt (Sweden) and Michel Chopinaud (France) who also stepped down at the election. 

Further appointments included Robyn Smith (Australia) who becomes Vice President, Karon Nicol (UK) and Barry Holman (USA) become Treasurer and Secretary General respectively and Prof. Jan Burns (UK) and Marc Truffaut (France) were re-elected to the posts of Head of Eligibility and Technical Officer.