Cricket ICC T20

ICC targets record crowd as host venues named for Australia’s World T20 Cup

By Taruka Srivastav | January 30, 2018

The ICC World T20 2020 aims to host a world-record attendance at the women’s final, which will take place on International Women’s Day 2020.

Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) is set to host both the women’s and men’s T20 finals. The eight host cities for the event are Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.

David Peever, chairman of Cricket Australia and the ICC World T20 2020 Local Organising Committee said: “Australia is extremely privileged to be hosting the ICC World T20 tournaments in 2020.

“On behalf of Cricket Australia and the Local Organising Committee, I would like to sincerely thank Government at both Federal and State and Territory level, host cities, venues and State and Territory Cricket Associations for their exceptional support, which is so critical for delivering the best possible events in 2020.”

ICC World Twenty20 2020 Local Organising Committee chief executive, Nick Hockley, added: “Australia is a sporting nation, with diverse and passionate fans who love cricket. We’ve designed ICC World T20, comprising standalone women’s and men’s events, to be more inclusive, more accessible and more connected than ever before, so that everyone can join in.”

“Major events of this scale are all about partnerships. We look forward to working with host cities, their communities, and all partners to deliver a spectacular celebration in 2020, including welcoming thousands of international visitors to attend matches and be part of it.”

Cricket ICC T20