ICC Announce Plans for Women’s Championship in August

By iSportconnect | July 4, 2014

A new Women’s Championship will be launched in August according to the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The top eight national teams would feature in the One-Day International, with each team playing each other three times between 2014 and 2016.

The multi-year qualifying competition would eventually lead teams to the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup.

Clare Connor chair of the ICC Women’s Committee, said: “The ICC Women’s Championship is an exciting new initiative that represents a significant step in the continued development of women’s cricket.

“The multi-year structure provides regular playing opportunities for the leading women’s teams, as well as clear context around bilateral series that provides a competitive pathway into the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017.”

The top four teams will automatically qualify for the World Cup, whilst the bottom four will enter the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2017.

ICC chief executive David Richardson added: “Following the ICC board’s decision to hold a stand-alone ICC Women’s World Twenty20 tournament every four years, alternately with the ongoing joint men’s and women’s ICC World Twenty20, this tournament guarantees both regular playing opportunities and a meritocratic pathway to the ICC Women’s World Cup.”