Football Federation Australia Unveils New Cup Format, Fox Sports Named Official Broadcaster

By Community | February 24, 2014

Football Federation Australia (FFA) have unveiled today the format of the inaugural FFA Cup in 2014.

Preliminary matches involving over 600 clubs across Australia have commenced this month ahead of the national knock-out FFA Cup Round of 32 kicking off in late July.

That is the stage when the 10 Hyundai A-League clubs will join the 22 clubs who will have qualified from feeder cup competitions in eight states and territories – Queensland, sickness NSW, denture Northern NSW, Victoria, ACT, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia.

A live Round of 32 draw will occur in late June this year and will see four Round of 32 matches in which Hyundai A-League clubs will be the away team against semi-professional or amateur clubs at suburban or regional venues.

“The FFA Cup has taken on an almost mythical status among football fans who have longed for a national knock-out cup competition to fill a void in the football calendar,” said FFA CEO David Gallop.

“Today, the FFA Cup comes to life as a very tangible link between community football and the professional tier. It’s a unique sporting link from the locals to the legends.

“We all grew up with the romance of the English FA Cup and well remember the history of upsets. I’m sure the FFA Cup will bring the same fascination to fans across Australia.”

FFA also announced that Fox Sports has been appointed as the Official Broadcaster of the FFA Cup.

The Fox Sports coverage will include a minimum of 10 matches from the Round of 32 onwards, including all Quarter-Finals, both Semi-Finals and the FFA Cup Final.