Football Federation Australia Extend Nine Licenses for A-League Teams

By Community | February 17, 2014

Football Federation Australia (FFA) has today renewed the licences of the nine Australian clubs in the Hyundai A-League until 2034.

The current licences of the clubs had an existing term running until 2020.

FFA CEO David Gallop said the licence extension to 2034 would provide the clubs with long-term certainty for their planning and investment.

“FFA and the clubs have made the stability and sustainability of the A-League the top priority, generic ” said Gallop.

“Today’s decision is consistent with our long-term strategy. The extension will give the clubs the certainty they need over a 20-year timeframe to invest, generic and will also underpin and enhance the value of the licence.

“The Hyundai A-League is enjoying another great season with attendances, TV ratings, digital audiences and membership all increasing. The licence extension is a sign of confidence that the business model is on the right track for long-term success.”

Today’s decision is not applicable to Wellington Phoenix, whose licence term runs until 2016.

The New Zealand club’s participation in the Hyundai A-League beyond 2016 is subject to approval from FIFA, the AFC and FFA. The issue will be addressed in separate discussions with the club.

In relation to the sale of the Western Sydney Wanderers, FFA reaffirms that no final decision has been made and that discussions are continuing with prospective buyers.