FIA confirm the 2011 calendar

November 4, 2010

The FIA ratified a record 20-race 2011 calendar on Wednesday, with lingering question marks over the Chinese and Indian grands prix.

Motorsport’s governing body said both were included but subject to homologation, or approval, of the circuits.

That was expected in the case of India, due to make its debut on October 30 with a new track under construction near New Delhi.

China’s impressive Shanghai circuit has hosted seven Formula One races but an FIA spokeswoman said changes needed to be made.

“The homologation licence for the Shanghai International Circuit has expired and before a new licence can be issued by the FIA some work on the track is required, with particular regards to the current drainage system and the quality of the track surface,” she said.

2011 Calendar
13/03 Bahrain
27/03 Australia
10/04 Malaysia
17/04 China*
08/05 Turkey
22/05 Spain
29/05 Monaco
12/06 Canada
26/06 Europe
10/07 Great Britain
24/07 Germany
31/07 Hungary
28/08 Belgium
11/09 Italy
25/09 Singapore
09/10 Japan
16/10 Korea
30/10 India*
13/11 Abu Dhabi
27/11 Brazil

*Subject to the homologation of the circuit.