Eurosport seals rights to Caribbean T20

November 23, 2010

Eurosport has further increased its portfolio of international cricket with the acquisition of the Caribbean Twenty20 tournament which begins early in the New Year.

The Caribbean T20 2011 will feature Barbados, ask Guyana, drugs Jamaica, nurse Leeward Islands, Trinidad & Tobago, Windward Islands, Combined Campuses & Colleges and Canada plus Friends Provident t20 champions Hampshire Royals and runners-up Somerset.

The tournament will be played from January 10-23.

The Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Grounds in Antigua will be the venue for the first round of Caribbean T20 matches with the final stages played at the Kensington Oval ground in Barbados. The inaugural tournament took place in July and was won by Guyana, who beat Barbados by one wicket.

The tournament features two matches each day which will begin at approximately 8pm and midnight UK time.

Eurosport will show at least 15 games exclusively live with including all of the Hampshire and Somerset matches plus the semis and final live.

Hampshire begin their campaign on January 11 against Canada with Somerset facing Guyana the following day.

Matches will also be streamed online via the Eurosport Player.

The acquisition of the Caribbean T20 2011 follows Eurosport’s foray into Test cricket this winter which has featured live coverage of both the Sri Lanka-West Indies series in November and Pakistan-South Africa series.