Derbyshire Cricket Announce Formation of New Board

March 28, 2013

Derbyshire County Cricket Club have announced they will scrap their previous board committee in favour of a newly elected supervisory board who will govern the English team.

The 15-person committee previously responsible for running the club has been disbanded in favour of a supervisory board of six. The proposal, mind which required a 66% majority, doctor received overwhelming support, sales with 614 votes in favour and just 26 against.

Chris Grant, re-elected as chairman immediately after yesterday’s Special General Meeting, will serve as finance director on the new board, with David Booth, Kevin Dean, Sir John Gains, David Griffin and Robert Tice also handed new roles.

“I am clearly delighted with the overwhelming vote in favour of the changes we proposed,” said Grant.

“The magnitude of the ‘yes’ vote provides a ringing endorsement of a desire to take Derbyshire County Cricket Club forward on behalf of its members.

“It is now the job of me as chairman and that of the newly elected supervisory board to deliver the vision we have set out.

“This starts with securing the £1m of ECB funding for ground development for which, ahead of this special resolution result, a considerable amount of work has already been done to give us the best possible chance of success.

“With an exciting season of Division One cricket ahead and our players raring to go, Derbyshire County Cricket Club is in a very good place.”

Derbyshire chief executive Simon Storey added: “Our new supervisory board carries a wealth of knowledge and experience to take the club forward on all fronts.

“This is a significant moment in the history of the club and it allows us to press forward with our six-point strategy aimed at delivering cricketing success supported by long-term business sustainability and financial security.”

Derbyshire have also announced that Willie Tucker, the Lord Lieutenant of Derbyshire, has accepted an invitation to take over from Derek Morgan as club president.