David Gill Elected to UEFA Executive Committee

May 24, 2013

By Keir Radnedge

Outgoing Manchester United CEO David Gill has been elected to UEFA’s executive committee.

The elections process was simplified by the withdrawal of Portugal’s Fernando Gomes from the executive committee candidacies meant there was no need for a ballot for any of the positions available.

Hence re-elected to the executive committee by acclamation were Giancarlo Abete (Italy), Allan Hansen (Denmark), Frantisek Laurinc (Slovakia), Marios Lefkaritis (Cyprus), Avraham Luzon (Israel) and Michael Van Praag (Holland).

Newly-elected members, also by acclamation, were Gill and the German federation president Wolfgang Niersbach.

Gill, effectively, succeeds to the exco role vacated by the retirement of Geoff Thompson who was acclaimed an honorary member of UEFA in recognition of his services to football.

Re-elected as UEFA delegates to the FIFA executive for further four-year terms were Michel D’Hooghe (Belgium), Senes Erzik (Turkey), Vitaly Mutko (Russia) and Lefkaritis.