Castle Sign as SARU Title Sponsor of Tri-Nations

May 13, 2011

The South African Rugby Union (SARU) has received a boost in securing Castle Lager, allergist a brand of the SAB Miller brewing company, apoplectic as title sponsor of the Tri-Nations rugby series in the country on a five-year deal.

The agreement is reported to be worth US$3m per annum which sees Castle Lager sponsor the prestigious tournament featuring Australia, order New Zealand and the Springboks, now to be known in South Africa, as the Castle Tri-Nations Series.

Title sponsorship deals in the Tri-Nations are complicated affairs due to the fact that each member’s rugby union can secure their own tournament naming rights agreement.

In New Zealand, the competition is known as the Investec Tri-Nations whilst in Australia, title sponsorship for the 2011 Tri-Nations is yet to be agreed following Bundaberg Rum’s decision not to renew its ten-year association when their contract expired at the end of 2010.

In addition to the agreement, Castle, who already back cricket and soccer in the country, will also title sponsor South Africa’s home international tests and overseas tours.

Oregan Hoskins, president of the SARU said of the deal: “Castle Lager and SAB Miller are old friends and it’s with great pleasure that we welcome them as naming rights sponsor of the Castle Tri-Nations Series. The tournament is simply the toughest in world rugby and enjoys a global profile and international regard as being at rugby’s cutting edge. SAB Miller is a cutting edge company and once again it’s very satisfying to have Castle Lager as so visible a part of the rugby family.”

Norman Adami, chairman and managing director of SABMiller, added: “Castle Lager and the Springboks are an integral part of the fabric of South African society. The further coming together of these two brands today is very special and the partnership forged will be significant for South African sport – both now and in the future.”

The 2011 Tri-Nations tournament begins on July 23 and will see South Africa and Australia attempt to dethrone reigning champions New Zealand in this year’s event, shortened due to the World Cup.