Big East Conference Signs ESPN Broadcast Deal Ahead of Rebrand

March 20, 2013

The Big East Conference has announced they have entered into a multiyear, order wide-ranging television contract with ESPN to telecast its football, generic basketball and Olympic sports until 2020.

The contract includes comprehensive national exposure via the acknowledged leader in college sports television, the ESPN networks. 

“I am delighted that the current Big East Conference, which will be renamed and rebranded, will be partnering with ESPN well into the future,” said Commissioner Michael Aresco.  “The extraordinary exposure provided by the ESPN networks will give viewers the opportunity to see the exciting competition and intense rivalries that will characterize our Conference.” 

“This agreement with ESPN will offer outstanding exposure for all of our institutions and is evidence of the great future for our conference,” Judy Genshaft, President of the University of South Florida and Chair of the Big East Executive Committee. 

“This agreement signifies our commitment to ensuring superior content across any device for many more years,” said John Skipper, ESPN President. “Sports fans everywhere, including the schools’ most passionate followers, will enjoy our extensive multi-sport offerings.”The current football contract with ESPN runs through the 2013 season.  By 2014-15, football, basketball and Olympic sports will be under one agreement. The conference will retain marketing rights which will provide lucrative sponsorship opportunities.

The next steps for the conference include naming and branding.

“We are working expeditiously to rename and rebrand the Conference,” Aresco added.  “We have an outstanding group of institutions that are excited to work together to establish a dynamic new identity.” 

Beginning with the 2015-16 academic year, the Conference will consist of the University of Central Florida, the University of Cincinnati, the University of Connecticut, the University of Houston, the University of Memphis, Southern Methodist University, the University of South Florida, Temple University and Tulane University, East Carolina University and the U.S. Naval Academy will be football-only members.