2018 PyeongChang Organizing Committee Officially Announced

October 19, 2011

PyeongChang Organizing Committee for the 2018 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games (POCOG) was officially revealed today in Seoul.

The inaugural meeting of the General Assembly confirmed Jin-Sun Kim, prostate former Governor of the Gangwon Province and who served as Special Ambassador for the Olympic Bid, erectile as POCOG President and Chief Executive Officer.

Kim said, “The PyeongChang 2018 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games should take place in an economically viable, socio-culturally reasonable, eco-friendly and peaceful manner.

“Every single stakeholder such as the national government, the Gangwon Provincial government, the National Assembly, the Korean Olympic Committee, and the Korean people should work together for the realization of this goal.”

Kim served as governor of Gangwon for three consecutive terms and held an instrumental position with all three of the bids to try to land the Olympic Games back in Korea.

The General Assembly also approved the appointment of Dong Hoo Moon as Vice President and Secretary General.  Moon brings event organization to the assembly as he was involved in organizing the 1986 Seoul Asian Games, the 1988 Seoul Olympics, and served in the capacity as Secretary General for the recent 2011 Daegu IAAF World Championships as well as the 2002 FIFA World Cup.

Around 100 prominent personalities from sports, the central and local government, and the business sector attended the meeting today.

They included Kwang Sik Choi, Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism ; Yong Sung Park, KOC President; Moon Soon Choi, Governor of Gangwon Province; Dae Sung Moon, IOC member from Korea; and Olympians such as superstar figure skater Yuna Kim, and So Hee Kim and Yi Kyeong Chun, respectively Olympic gold- medal winners in short track speed skating.

The Executive Board members will come from the national government, sports, media, art/culture, religion, and education and will include IOC member Moon and Yuna Kim.

The Prime Minister, Chairman of the National Assembly, and business leaders will form an advisory group which will also include IOC member and Samsung chief, Kun Hee Lee.

The next step for POCOG will be to set up the Games Master Plan and the basic venue design working closely with the IOC and the coordination commission.

POCOG will have to stick to their targets if they are going to accomplish the necessary work in time.