FIS FIS World Ski Championships Host Cities

Hosts For 2026 And 2027 FIS World Ski Championships Elected

May 26, 2022

Today, Thursday 25th May, the FIS Council elected the Organisers of the 2027 FIS Snowboard, Freestyle & Freeski, Nordic and Alpine World Championships as well as for the 2026 FIS Ski Flying World Championships. The final presentations by the six candidates took place earlier in the day with the highly-anticipated decision announced at the Allianz Tower in Milan (ITA), which was streamed live on the FIS digital platforms.  

It was a full field bidding to host the FIS Alpine World Ski Championships with four candidates: Crans Montana (SUI), Garmsich-Partenkirchen (GER), Narvik (NOR) and Soldeu (AND) all in the hunt.

The Council elected Crans Montana (SUI) as the host of the 2027 FIS Alpine World Ski Championships. It will be the second time that the Swiss resort has hosted the Alpine Ski World Championships and 2027 will mark the 40-year anniversary from their first outing.

“We had four excellent bids to host the 2027 Alpine World Championships and it certainly was not an easy decision. Crans Montana brought a passion to its bid that you could feel. Bringing the Alpine World Ski Championships to the heart of Alpine Skiing in 2027 will be an unbelievable opportunity.”

Oberstdorf (GER) was unanimously elected as host of the 2026 FIS Ski Flying World Championships. It will be the seventh time that the German venue has hosted the Ski Flying World Championships.

“After hosting the highly successful FIS Nordic World Ski Championships in 2021, Oberstdorf will bring both a wealth of organizational experience to the table together with very high interest from the community,” said FIS President Johan Eliasch.

Also unanimously elected was Montafon (AUT) for the FIS Snowboard, Freestyle and Freeski World Championships 2027. It marks the second time that Austria has hosted the joint World Championships, which features more than 30 medal events.  

“In 2015, Austria was the first host to take on these massive joint World Championships when Kreischberg hosted. We are happy to go back to the roots with an Austrian resort hosting and are even more pleased to put these World Championships in the very capable hands of Montafon,” said Eliasch

The FIS Nordic World Ski Championships 2027 were unanimously awarded to Falun (SWE). The central Swedish community hosted the Nordic World Championships in 2015, putting on a spectacular show with tens of thousands of passionate fans.

“Falun already gave the world an unforgettable World Championship in 2015 and I am pleased that we can return there so quickly, just 12 years later, which will allow them to build on their experience and deliver another fantastic two weeks of Nordic action,” said Eliasch.

Overview of the votes

2026 FIS Ski Flying World Championships: Oberstdorf (GER) – unanimous

2027 FIS Freestyle Ski & Snowboard World Championships: Montafon (AUT) – unanimous

2027 FIS Nordic World Ski Championships: Falun (SWE) – unanimous

2027 FIS Alpine World Ski Championships:
Crans Montana (SUI) – 11 votes
Narvik (NOR) – 3 votes
Soldeu (AND) – 3 vote
Garmisch-Partenkirchen (GER) – 1 vote

FIS FIS World Ski Championships Host Cities